top of page

Order of the Silver Trowel

The Order of the Silver Trowel sometimes referred to as the Thrice Illustrious Master Degree is a "chair" degree that is conferred upon those who are or have served as Illustrious Master of a Council of Cryptic Masons.The order is also known by the name of the Order of Anointed Kings.

The Degree consists of two sections - the candidate representing young King Solomon in both sections. In the first section, the candidate learns of the conspiracy by his half-brother Adonijah, to wrest the throne by cunning from Solomon. He also learns of his mother (Bathsheba) interceding with the aged and ailing King David to prevent this. After securing David's approval, Solomon is symbolically conducted to Gihon by Benaiah where he is duly obligated, anointed, and hailed as King by Nathan, the Prophet, and Zadok, the High Priest. In the second section, the newly anointed King is brought before his father, David, who, in his dying moments, instructs him in moral wisdom and counsels him to govern uprightly and to serve the Lord with all his strength. Upon Solomon's assent, the King expires.

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page